Board of Directors

We enjoy the leadership of a diverse, creative and hardworking Board of Directors:

Anthony Wisz, Deputy Director, Southern Arizona Legal Aid

Cece Aguilar Ortiz, IDEA School Parent, Nonprofit Professional, Community Advocate
Vice President

Debbie Towle, Staff Representative to the Board

Mellow Dawn Lund, IDEA School Parent, Small Business Owner


Frieda Baker, NAACP; UA College of Education; Pima County Retired Teachers Assoc; TUSD Classroom Teacher (retired)

Serene Harrison, SVP Tucson Partner; Mom; Community Advocate

Hans Hutchison, Musician, Tradesman; Former Classroom Teacher (BASIS Tucson)

Claudia Kappl Joy, IALD, CLD, MIES, WKO, Founder and Owner, C L L   .   C o n c e p t   L i g h t i n g   L a b

Katie Kurtin, Master’s in Education, Emphasis on Equity and Social Justice in the Classroom; Early Childhood Educator and Family Coach

Marjorie Miller, Progressive Educator and Advocate; TUSD Classroom Teacher (retired)

Staff Representative(s) to the Board (elected each Fall by fellow staff members):

Debbie Towle, School Counselor and Reading Specialist, Collaborator Coach; TUSD Classroom Teacher (retired)


In Memoriam:

Mark A. Wasko, BSH Builders; Educator and former public school teacher; Lover of life


Past Presidents:

Jean Schroeder (2017-19)
Nicolle S. Bornstein (2015-17)
Mellow Dawn Lund (2014-15)



Jaime L. Johnson, IDEA School Parent; Director of Curriculum and Student Services

David R. Higuera, IDEA School Parent; Director of Finance and Development

Head of School

Bahne M. Kuehne, M.EDL, IDEA School Parent; former School Administrator



We also benefit from the wise counsel of local and national experts in the fields of education, the arts, entrepreneurship, community development, innovation and finance. We are grateful for their guidance and support!

Jean Schroeder, Founding Board Member of IDEA School; TUSD Educator (retired); National Council for Teachers of English (NCTE), Children’s Literature Assembly; Tucson Festival of Books

Maggie McKiernan, Founding Board Member of IDEA School; Founder and Owner, QualityTime Educational Ideas and Services, Early Childhood Expert

Nicolle S. Bornstein, Founding Board Member of IDEA School; Community advocate; Mindfulness practitioner

Pam Bateman, Founder of Civano Community School, Vail School District

Barbara Lewis, Dunbar School Alumnus, Dunbar Coalition Member, Community Advocate

Debi Chess, University of Arizona Office of the President

Anita E. Fernandez, Ph.D., Director, Prescott College, Tucson
Director, Xican@ Institute for Teaching and Organizing

Angela Baurley, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Affinity Wealth Management

Erik Rice, Director, College and Career Readiness, San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD)

Eric Schindler, CEO, Child & Family Resources

Gever Tulley, Co-Founder and Director, Brightworks and the Tinkering School

Morgan Wells, Curator of Education, Tucson Museum of Art